Blog

California Adopts Paid Sick Leave Law

The Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 provides that an employee who, on or after July 1, 2015, works in California for 30 or more days within a year from the commencement of employment is entitled to paid sick days for prescribed purposes, to be accrued at a rate of no less than one hour for every 30 hours worked. An employee would be entitled to use accrued sick days beginning on the 90th day of employment. An employer can limit an employee’s use of paid sick days to 24 hours or 3 days in each year of employment. The law also prohibits an employer from discriminating or retaliating against an employee who requests paid sick days. The Labor Commissioner is tasked with enforcing these requirements, including the investigation, mitigation, and relief of violations of these requirements. The law does not apply to certain categories of employees that meet specified requirements.

For more information, or if you need legal assistance, please contact the Wagner Legal Group at info@wagnerlegalgroup.com or (310) 857-5293.

Leave a Reply